You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in some other countries students attend university in another city. Though living at home with family is very desirable considering students can interact with their loved ones on a daily basis, it can be argued that the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages.

Living with family during university is a very ideal situation. There sure are many advantages to that. The students can interact with their family members on a regular basis and everybody can be there with everybody. The students can have a support system in times of crisis. It creates a strong sense of family. The benefits are indeed undeniable. However, it creates a safe bubble for the students

Living alone means students need to take care of everything on their own. They often do not get the adequate time to interact with their family. Time spent with family decreases as the years roll by especially when the pending assignments and projects pile up. Nevertheless, the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages. The students learn to take care of themselves alone and live independently. Not only that, they get to interact with like-minded people and develop their own setting. It offers them the opportunity to see the world from a different perspective and to think and develop independently. The students learn to step out of their comfort zones and to adapt to new surroundings and take on the challenges on their own.

In conclusion it can be said that despite all its disadvantages, living alone during university truly prepares the students for life. They develop their own worldview and become mature and ready to make their way into the world.