You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Some hold that individuals cannot do anything to improve our environment, as only governments and large-scale firms may effectively impact our environment. In this essay, I shall first present this position and then disqualify it. I shall argue that individuals can in fact make an environmental difference as daily choices of consumers and housholds have significant implications for our plant.

First, it is often said that only the authorities and big companies can take impactful measures to make our environment better since only these bodies can lead to effective changes in terms of their environmental influence. This is because governments can determine and implement environmental policies in the national level, and corporates can control their great impact on their surroundings. For example, a government can enact laws prohibiting the activity of polluting factories, and similarly, such polluting companies can self-control their acitivty so as to mitigate their negative implications for the environment. However, it is also believed that individuals cannot take such actions, and thus their influence on environmental issues is insignificant.

In my opinion, this pessimistic stance overlooks the importance of mundane decisions, taken by us as economic agents, to environmental protection. As private consumers or houshold representatives, we make numerous choices with a bearing on the environment on a daily basis. For instance, we decide whether to reach a place by foot or by car, thereby affecting our potential greehouse gas emmisions. Similarly, we can purchase only products with a low carbon footprint, or disregard this factor, regarding it as an irrelevant consideration. If we regularly take environment-friendly decisions, we may aid in reducing air pollution and tackle the climate change.

However, it is worth noting that opponents of this position usually stress that each individual’s influence on the environment is minor. Thus, they believe that it is practically negligible, and solely governments and large companies can make a genuine difference. I, on the other hand, argue that when multiple individuals adopt a green mindset and behavior, the aggregate impact can be immense. If, for example, many people choose to use their bike for transportation, carbon emissions may dramatically decilne. Therefore, this counterargument is inconclusive and unconvincing, as it disregards the potential total impact.

To sum up, in contrast to those who disbelieve in our ability to improve our environment as individuals, I believe that we can actually contribute to saving our planet in a meaningful way.