You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

University is an interesting time in one’s life, for it is the transition from traditional schooling to adult learning. This learning is not just limited to studying, rather also the navigation of post graduate life, and learning how to deal with the so-called “real world”. In this discourse I shall attempt to discuss why residing in a different city from your family is a much better idea compared to living with your parents.

Once an individual graduates university, they are expected to be a fully functioning, independent adult. This includes learning how to create a balance between work and your personal life. As far as I have seen, people who lived in dorms during their Bachelor degrees are much better at creating a work-life balance, since they have had about four years of managing a very demading academic degree, while also sorting out their chores themselves.

Of course, it’s always preferable to stay in the comfort of your childhood home, with a support system around you, whilst you face a challenging degree. However, such is life! There will always be some challenge or another, and the sooner you learn to deal with it the better.

I, myself, have lived in a hostel for the better part of five years, when I was studying Medicine. In that time, I learnt how to do laundry, managed my finances on my own, and even became a decent cook (though not without the occasional kitchen disaster!). It definitely was not easy, and there were times I considered moving back home. But ultimately, it taught me time management, basic life skills, and most of all, disciplined me and shaped me into the doctor I am today.