You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Living abroad does benefit the individuals as it is an opportunity for students to expand their connections, living independent, and learning different presepective. However, some do prefer going to a university that is close with their family, as it is more affordable and prevent themselves from homesick. Therefore, in this essay we will discuss whether benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, living abroad expand individual social life. For example, my older sister is doing her university in Malaysia. As an Indonesian student she made connections from different countries such as Korea, Malaysia, China, Philippines, etc. This is highly beneficial as you got to learn different cultures and gain knowledge on how they learn. Hence, living abroad is beneficial for students.

Moreover, living away from home, makes you independent,meaning it will naturally develop your survival skills. For example, knowing how to cook, thinking how to heal yourself when being sick, or planning your finances so that you are not broke. This skills are really important and will surely be used in future. Therefore, living away makes you independent.

However, living abroad means you will often feels homesick, this means that you have no one to rely on when you are sick or when you needed help. Living in dormitories will not able to give you the comfortability like you are in home, as you are living with someone you never know. Nevertheless, it takes time in adapting the culture, food, and remembering places like mall, supermarket, etc. Thus, living abroad forces you to adapt to the changes.

In conclusion, although there are disadvantages in living away from home, there is a bigger opportunities being made by living abroad such as connections, knowledge, and being independent. This is set of skills and knowledge that will surely help in the future.