Young people are often influenced in their behaviour and situations by others of the same age. This is called "peer pressure". Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

Young people are often influenced in their behavior and situations by others of the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In today’s fast-paced world, many young individuals are constantly influenced in their behavior and situations by others of the same age, with some saying this is called peer pressure. However, this may affect their habits, advantages are far greater, that it develop their cognitive skills.

One disadvantage is that they may engaging in harmful actions, like cyberbullying or dangerous actions that against the law. This behaviors has detrimental effects, exacerbating both their safety and future prospects. For example, teenagers have a tendency for smoking in their teenage life, and if some of them are do this in public places and they also inspire their friends repeat their acts, which can affect their habits. Another downside is that social media trend or contents make young people feel they must look perfect. This can also play an indispensable role shaping their behavior, they are scrolling manipulative contents and watch youngers at their age. As a result, time is wasted on entertainment instead of education.

Despite the downsides, benefits are much more significant. First and foremost, peer pressure may enhance healthy habits such as, regular exercise and studying around the clock. It promotes good behavior when surrounded by responsible peers. Similarly, they can learn how to communicate with other people and seek help from each other, which ultimately improve their self-confidence and well-being. They are studying together with their peers during the lessons, when they pose challenges they can bounce back from setbacks altogether and develop their teamwork skills. Ultimately, it shaped their behavior and become open-minded person.

In conclusion, although peer pressure does present certain disadvantages, benefits such as encouraging positive habits are greater.