Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been pervasively discussed by a fraction of individuals that younger criminals offending serious crimes should get punishment which is identical to adults’. I completely disagree with the given statement as there are alternative ways to punish young people and they are not ready for such stiff punishments to be enacted on them.

One of the reasons why I believe that young people do not deserve serious punishments is that there are other methods like rehabilitation and community service for younger ones. Such punishments will reform the behaviour of the offenders in the appropriate way. Consequently, it may assist in shaping their moral and core values without getting in prisons. Additionally, such methods would help them how to function correctly in a society to become useful parts of their community. For instance, the recent statistics have shown that around 60 per cent of the criminals who were aged under 25 were not likely to reoffend a crime after getting treatments in rehabilitation centres and working in social services.

Secondly, as young people are not grown yet totally, they may struggle in jails with adults. This is because residing in such places might be harsh and destroy the mental health of youth by adults exhibiting the inappropriate manner. This kind of inclination may lead to the rise in death rate and reoffenders as well. To offer a salient example, in local prisons of the United States younger criminals had panic attacks along this, their psychology also got deteriorated after being in a jail.

In conclusion, I believe that young-aged individuals, who have committed serious crimes should be sent to the prisons, because they have a chance to be shaped in special centres and can face challenges along with the degradation mentally.