Your class has listened to a radio discussion about how adults can be a good influence on younger people. You have made the notes below: Ways adults can influence how younger people behave: giving rules setting an example offering advice Some opinions expressed in the discussion: "Sometimes it's fun to break the rules!" "If you admire somebody, you try to behave like them." "Young people don't always listen." You should explain which point is more important, giving reasons in support of your answer.

Every responsible parent is worried about raising their child into an upright individual. However, there are several tools that serve that aim. I would like to discuss two of them: giving rules and setting an example.

Children’s mentality differs from that of adults. By creating rules and routines parents help their children to stay calm and make it clear what is good and bad, and what behaviour is expected from them. Moreover, knowing the rules creates a safe and predictable environment and develops conscience. Learning by following the rules at home helps children to achieve better at school and prevents unwanted behaviour in the companies of peers.

The other great way to influence adolescents is setting an example. Every theory needs confirmation and if there isn’t any, any moralizing will not be taken seriously. Even in the wild the cubs emulate the behaviour of their parents and take it as an example. Psychologists believe that no matter what is said to a child, the only important thing is the action. Solely the actions of the parents become a benchmark for a child and set its behavioral patterns for the future.

I think that setting an example is the most effective and natural way of influencing young people. Whatever parents say the child is more likely to follow their behavior.