Your prompt: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

In modern society, people have longer life expectancy than before. It has become a heated debate whether aging population is a positive of negative impact on the society. Overall, I personally believe that this phenomenon is a serious problem for people within a nation, from government to younger generation. Aging society brings way more drawbacks than its benefits.

On one hand, for the government, subsidies for older people has been a financial burden for years. Most of the elders cannot work and receive free and discounted medical resources such as appointments, vaccines, and examinations. Also, as healthcare insurance coving lots of areas of medical expenses, seeing a doctor is relatively cheap and convenient. This caused overuses of medical resources. The major group of people that abuse medical resources is old people.

On the other hand, the overall workforce burden is on younger generation, which has become a rare population. According to recent news, on the average of four young people need to rear one old person, which is a big burden. Since the rising price on the overall goods, fewer people can survive in the society when the overall salary remains the same. Most of the young people cannot afford to take care of old people. This situation brings down the productivity and economy of a nation.

In conclusion, aging society has contributed to several bad consequences as stated above so that the government should take actions to deal with these issues to lessen financial burdens from all kinds of roles form a society.