🔹 In many countries, governments and individuals spend too much money on national celebrations such as New Year and religious festivals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that, in different parts of the world, both states and people waste money in the celebrations of national holidays, namely New Year and religious festivals. In my opinion, I completely disagreethat the money spent during the national and religious celebrations is disproportionate. This is mainly because governments spend the money for attracting more tourists to their country, while the families see the expenditure as a chance to create stronger bonds with their members.

The money spent on festivals and holidays by governments always increase the tourism revenue in return, because the more impressive and glorious celebrations, the more people advertise the holiday by sharing various posts about these events in their social media. Consequently, this will increase the reputation and the image of country in public eye and tourists will have booked their plane tickets for that specific time of the year to be able to witness the celebrations. For instance, the U.S. is renowned internationally for their Halloween celebrations, which is the staple of American culture. This is the main reason why there is a surge in visa applications each year before the Halloween comes.

For citizens, national and religious holidays are the most popular way to spend time together with their families and loved ones. The money they spend for the celebrations is meant for a greater purpose, which is to create, strengthen, and solidify the bond between them. Moreover, they increase their sense of belonging to their culture and teach young kids how to celebrate these festivals together. One clear example is the Ramadan feast celebrated by Turkish people, who even travel back to their home country and donate money as a religious duty. The Turkish see that feast as an opportunity to reconnect their culture, religion, people, and above all, family.

In conclusion, I disagree that too much money is spent on national and religious festivities because spending money on these days are both a way for a country to earn more money through tourists and for families to build a stronger connection.