14) Some people say that the Government should break down all the historic buildings and replace them with modern buildings. Do you agree or disagree?

A handful of individuals believe that ancient structures have little utility left in the modern world, therefore, they should be destroyed and contemporary buildings should be built in their place. While it might be more economical to rebuild, these wonders still serve as a monument for many reasons. The bases for my view are my personal values, history, and economics.

Personally, I love traveling, especially to ancient ruins. They enhance the landscape and scenery of each country they belong in. For example, there are many temples in Thailand which are beautifully built and designed with illustrations on the wall based on Thai folklore. All of these are the key to an unforgettable vacation for many tourists.

For a historical point of view. The structures are invaluable, they are like a textbook for historians to explore and study from. If they didn’t exist, we would know as much about our past as we know today. For instance, the iconic Colosseum in Italy allows us to devise what life in ancient Rome looked like. For that reason, they should be preserved and respected.

Many utilitarians might argue that the structures have little economic values. I strongly disagree because tourism is a big part of many countries’ income. That’s why tourism attractions are crucial and should not be replaced. For example, one of the most visited cities in the world, Bangkok, has a world famous Buddhist temple called Wat Pra Kaew. Evidently, without Wat Phra Kaew, Bangkok wouldn’t be generating as much revenue as it is today.

In conclusion, the historic buildings should be protected from destruction. Otherwise, we would lose invaluable relics for mere conveniences.