3) People should be atleast 21 years old before they are allowed to drive a car. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been being debated that driver’s license must be issued to only after a person turns 21. I do agree to it on circumstantial basis, however I believe that by doing so, the authorities are taking away the agency of the youth.

On a daily basis there are a number of accidents happening around the globe. A significant percentage of those accidents are caused by people below the age of 21. The causes of those accidents happen to have similar pattern to it, one of them being negligence, i.e. talking on phone while driving, ignoring the speed-limits and zooming through the streets and highways, etc. Considering the reason behind the accidents, I believe the government should establish a driving program that focuses on providing on-the-ground training to avoid such situation to the youth.

Furthermore, with the increase of the limit, young adults would be scrapped off their autonomy and the right to become a participating adult in the society sooner. Since knowing how to drive a car from a young age can lead one to understand the repercussions of their actions and negligence well. It is only through experiencing driving on the road and different situations one can acquaint themselves with such natural knowledge, which can become instincts in later part of their lives. For example, a lot of people have claimed that learning driving at a young age helped them get acquainted with the driving rules and techniques rather easily; to the point that driving in moments of crisis their brains have adapted to the rules and safety measures one must take while driving.

In conclusion, increasing the age limit might have its benefits by decreasing the number of accidents. However it takes away the autonomy of an adult and be an active member of society.