3) People should be atleast 21 years old before they are allowed to drive a car. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I vehemently agree to the statement asserting to be at least twenty one in order to possess a driving license. Driving below the age of twenty one is a contentious issue among policymakers, parents and young adults. Statistical evidence also depicts higher rates of accidents among young drivers every year. Inexperience, immaturity and risk taking behaviour contribute these alarming statistical evidence. The statistics also claims that drivers aged between sixteen and nineteen are three time more likely to get involved in fatal crashes as compared to twenty or older drivers. Therefore, there is a need for intervention to mitigate the risks associated with young drivers.

Upon analyzing, one of the primary reasons for heightened risk among young drivers is the lack of experience. The analysis also shows that young drivers engage themselves in risk taking or impulsive behaviour behind the wheels, this is because of immaturity and incapable of making decision.

Moreover, traditional driving education only focuses on the mechanics of driving without addressing the above mentioned factors.

Overall, driving is a set of skills that can be honed through a lot of practice and exposure to various complex driving situations which obliges people to come up with best suitable solutions.

However, the challenges can be addressed by implementing comprehensive rules and regulations suitable for drivers of all age. This could include advanced training in decision making skills or gradually exposing young drivers to complex driving situations, which can build confidence or restricted driving during nighttime and more education towards driving under the influence of any harmful or somniferous substance.