3) People should be atleast 21 years old before they are allowed to drive a car. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite being eligible to attain a driver’s licence at the age of 18, at the age of 16 in some countries, many have the fear that under 21 years is far too young to be permitted to handle a vehicle such as a car. While it is true that motor accidents are frequent and dangerous, I doubt that restricting the age at which one can drive will solve this issue.

It must be understood that driving a car is much more than a luxury: it is a necessity. Many older teenagers require travelling long distances to attend university and other social gatherings. It is impractical to walk or abide by some other mode of public transportation, both for safety reasons and the heavy cost. My parents, for example, will never let me trek to school despite the distance being negligible due to it not only being cumbersome, but also it being a hotspot for kidnapping and other scandalous activities.

Age, in this sense, is a terrible divider for those fit to drive and those that are not, as travelling is a universal need. Responsible driving should instead be taught more thoroughly, the licence being harder to attain as well. This will ensure that young adults, teenagers, and the older generation alike, in the future, will pertain to driving conventions more strictly.

Evidently, our society should not restrict driving to the age of 21, but rather must make the attainment of the licence itself much more difficult regardless of the age at which the applicant attempts the test.