A 'cashless society' is one where people use debit/credit cards and other forms of payment instead of cash. Do the advantages of a cashless society outweigh the disadvantages?

At the present time, cash is not common among individuals for payment, and they use their credit cards. This society has a name: ‘cashless society’. This essay will argue that despite some limitations in some rare situations, the benefits of using credit cards and online payment far outweigh any drawbacks.

On the one hand, using cash is still common as a payment method in some countries or a number of small cities. Numerous local markets exist that are using the old method of payment, which is cash. Tax is the reason why so many people use only cash instead of credit cards or online payment methods. People have to pay so much tax annually, and by using cash, they can honestly escape from the tax. In addition, a number of situations exist where cash can save them. For example, I can remember that because of a lack of electricity in a restaurant, I had to wait for electricity to pay by credit cards or online. On the contrary, if I had cash, I would have paid without any problem.

On the other hand, undoubtedly, credit cards provide a plethora of opportunities for people. First, people cannot buy something online by paying cash for it, and this is one of the most important things about credit cards. Second, people cannot carry a huge amount of money with them in cash, but they can carry thousands or even millions of dollars with them by using their credit cards. Furthermore, cash is something that can easily be stolen by thieves. For example, I had one hundred dollars in my bag, but suddenly I realized that I lost my bag in the train station, which is one of the most crowded places in the city, and there are an abundance of thieves in it.

In conclusion, nowadays, people are using credit cards and online payment methods instead of cash. However, there are some places that are using cash as payment because of a few benefits, but the opportunities that credit cards provide for people outweigh any drawbacks of it.