A growing population is a big problem in many countries. Should the government provide new homes in the cities or countryside?

There are strong arguments that a rising population is widely regarded as a major issue in many nations. While some countries are building more houses in the city to deal with the rapid growth of their population, I believe that the government should develop rural areas to deal with the population growth.

First, construct new housing estates in the rural regions could offer more spaces for its citizens. This is because most rural areas are still undeveloped. This allows the government to expand the residential area from urban to rural. For example, most less densely populated areas are commencing the construction of housing. After several years, the rural regions have been developed and people with their families are moving into the brand-new flats. As a result, expanding the living zones from metropolis to countryside could provide plenty of space for the residents. Moreover, the cheaper prices of the apartment in the countryside could attract more new families settling down. In addition, the pressure of the land supply would be lower in the city due to the development of the rural areas.

Second, building houses or rebuilding apartments could provide more space and improve the living quality of the families. It is important for the government to settle housing policies to implement the construction of new housing and reconstructing some old buildings in the mega city. However, building housing in the metropolitan areas may cause air pollution, excessive population density and the housing prices are unaffordable. It may cause cooperation: Government and the housing bureau may cooperate together to encourage relocation to develop new areas. Meanwhile, the government could reconstruct the buildings and housing in the urban centres for enhancing the living spaces and quality. Furthermore, the government could establish new facilities in the newly developed area to assist the newcomers. Consequently, while building departments in the city are impractical, the government should focus on the countryside and reconstructing the building in the city.

In conclusion, although the government built new apartments in the rural area to deal with the problem of overcrowding in the city. Nevertheless, it is also important for the government to maintain the quality of life for its residents. Ultimately, the improvement of the housing quality may depend on the efforts of the government and the housing officials.