A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that people have become materialistic over the period of time. a person’s worth is mostly judged by his or her status or the money and possessions he holds. However according to me values such as honor, kindness and trust far weigh all other things.

With the passage of time, old customs and values seems to be fading away in this modern era. The traits and characteristics which actually makes us human and differ us from other creatures are no longer being catered. People have forgotten that without these values, the world would be at chaos. These are the things which makes a person truly valuable and such beauty would never fade away nor it can be taken away by someone else.

However, there are many reasons which contribute to this problem of people being materialistic with one major factor being the advancements in technology, excessive use of social media, mobile phones. They have altered our standards of praising stuff. People have started to live in a virtual world and fantasize what’s being portrayed in front of them. People get appealed by physical appearance rather than how a person actually is on the inside. People are more inclined towards showing a fake personality on social media or even in person to get attention. According to me Hollywood movies and peer pressure also have a great influence on our society.

So as i mentioned above various factors are building up this negative mentality in our society and it has to be paid attention to. All other materialistic things are also important in our lives but being human, values such as honor, kindness and trust is what we live for and these are the things which would keep world be peaceful place.