A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

In todays day and age people are not seen for their values, personality and morals but are seen for their physical possessions and status. The modern world has been robbed of its soul and its slowly creeping into how we view one another.

Through mass media and advertising our perspective has modified, to emphasize on money, luxury goods, and social status. My opinion is that one must look at someone’s values, character and personality not their worldly possessions, one must look at someone’s honor, kindness and trust.

While meeting someone for the first time, this generation tends to look at how they dress, their clothes and watch before they even talk to the person, sadly they have already made their judgement regarding the person and it is a task to change that. There is a saying “First impression is the best impression” unfortunately, in this modern world the first impression is based on someone’s material possessions and appearance not their values and ideas.

Most people desire to be like the uber rich and the top one percent and some try to recreate their lifestyle, poorly one must say. They go after the possessions and hobbies of the rich trying their best to imitate it ,on said pursuit loosing some of the core values they were brought up with. I believe the fact that people are judged only on the basis of their social status and possessions is wrong ,in my opinion people judge someone’s exterior first and later on judge their character. These possessions and status can merely mask someone’s true values, they cannot hide it. Eventually someone’s true values and character will be revealed and people will judge them based on that not the facade they keep up.