A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

In recent times, an individual’s worth is based on his position in the societal hierarchy and by his acquisition of prestigious commodities rather than traditional values of kindness mutual trust and dignity. As a result, people have been prioritizing worldly success more than irreplaceable and much needed personal virtues.

I am of the opinion that sacrificing core human values in the race for possession of professional achievements may lead to focusing and valuing less significant things. I consider that this is due to the pressure imposed by the society and often the deep-rooted fear to fit in amongst others. For example, people who follow conservative beliefs possessing these qualities are often labeled as dogs or soft hearted by others.

On the flip side, this perspective has few advantages as well, like improved work ethic, dedication, and increased commitment to goals. But these solely exist to be validated by the community and stem from lack of self-belief as well as confidence in oneself. For instance, if employees are certain of the fact that there will be no recognition or praise showered once their ardous task has been achieved, they are much more likely to give up or do the task in a casual manner.

Overall, I believe that this shift in values are harmful and deceptive and must be reconsidered. Moreover, orthodox values should be the determining factors of one’s worth as these show an individual’s true character and potential.