Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produces? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

The advent of online shopping brought mixed outcomes, with some aspects of life benefitting and some others suffering as a aresult of it. One of the areas that suffered could be local traditional shops as the popularity of online shops is causing them to close down. I believe this can lead to a couple of serious problems, and it is important to find a solution soon.

There are several issues that can be caused by the situation in question. The first, and perhaps the most obvious, is the owners of those shops having financial problems. Because of losing their shop that was a way of earning a living, they and their families alike could struggle financially. The closure of local shops could lead to a rise in unemployment figures too since those working there – cashiers, sales assistants or shelf-stackers – are likelt to be jobeless once the shop is gone. Thus, the issues caused might impact on a big number of people in the local area.

However, there are several measures that can be taken to tackle this. The first step local shops can take could be to adapt quickly. If the demand is great for online retailers, local shop owners can also go on to sell goods on the internet just by having a single website and decent delivery service. A second measure would fall to governments as they can create other alternative job opportunities to make up for the loss of vacancies. The final, and in my view the most effective, solution would be to teach the public modern professions so they can land online jobs too if local shops are to be closed. This is because online retailers also need many employees as IT developers, prphics designers or marketing specialists, and people just need the skills to be employed there. With these measures in place, the problem being discussed would easily be solved.

In conclusion, because of the closure of local shops, many people are likely to suffer. This should swiftly be solved, and teaching the general public the skills to handle modern professions would be the best solution.