Advertisements are becoming more and more common ih everyday life. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In contemporary society, the advent of advertisements is becoming more prevalent. While some argue that advertisements have detrimental effects, I believe that the advantages, such as promoting new products and informing consumers, outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several negative effects of advertisements on our lives. Firstly, this promotes harmful substances, which can harm public health. The promotion of alcohol and smoking makes more people addicted to them, which is extremely bad for our health. For instance, teenagers believe that drinking and smoking will get them more friends, express their unique personalities, and make them more popular. Moreover, buying more stuff without consideration could cause massive environmental destruction. To make more stuff, trees need to be cut down and mental products also need to be produced. It not only depletes our natural resources but also releases greenhouse gases into the atmosphere and the ecosystem gets destroyed.

On the other hand, it is noticeable that there is one main benefit to advertising. Effective advertising benefits businesses as it helps products reach and convince consumers to buy them. Effective advertising campaigns can create awareness and generate interest, increasing sales. For instance, Coca-Cola successfully boosted its revenue with the Shake a Coke campaign which featured common names on the bottles that personalized its products. This increased sales and promoted a unique and memorable engagement with consumers.

In conclusion, while advertising can negatively impact public health and the environment, its role in promoting products and informing consumers remains a significant benefit to our society.