All the university students should do voluntary work in their own time to help local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that students in tertiary education should take part in some voluntary work to help the citizens or the neighbor where they live. From my point of view, I totally agree with this opinion.

There are some rational reasons for young adults who attend university to join a non-profit activity. Firstly, doing voluntary work can help students improve and develop their social skills which play important role in their working life in future, such as cooperative skills, communication skills, time management. For example, when a person partakes in a voluntary work, they will meet people from different backgrounds and it requires he or she to communicate and cooperate well to others in order to do a job, such as cleaning the street, cooking free meals for homeless people. Moreover, with this personal interaction, the student can expand their social network and cultivate new knowledge from people in different fields. Another benefit is that doing voluntary work can be an advantage in students’ CV when they apply for a job as the companies can see their contribution to local communities.

Secondly, doing voluntary work can increase the state of well-being, especially mental health of students. This is because when volunteers help other people who have disadvantages, circumstances, they receive a sense of happiness. Specifically, these emotions come from the thought that they have something to contribute to the community and being valued for the society. Besides, non-profits activities nurture in students the moral values, such as kindness, love, empathy. All these virtues are important for a person to build and maintain relationships in their personal life and professional workplace.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the statement of the university. Students should do non-profit activities de to the upsides it brings for student’s mental health and soft skills.