All the university students should do voluntary work in their own time to help local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that all tertiary students are compelled to do some voluntary activities to bolster the society. From my school of thought, I largely concur with such a proposal and I will elucidate why.

It is reasonable for some to argue that compel all students to do voluntary projects is improper. Firstly, Since many students spend too much time on voluntary work, they do not concentrate on studying. As a result, they do not have enough time to revise lessons of compulsory subjects, which requires too much time and effort. Secondly, not all student’s situations allow them to join in voluntary activities. This means that less well-off students could prioritize paid work over voluntary work that can pay for the cover living-costs.

I am in favor of all tertiary students taking part in voluntary activities. The first and foremost rationale for my assertion is that participation in these activities helps students gain more soft skills. They will travel to many places, meet many people from different cultural backgrounds, and cooperate with teammates, among others, thus developing communication skills, finance management, and so on which are of paramount significance for themselves when entering the world of work. Furthermore, students taking part in unpaid community work helps less well-off people. For example, the faculty of tourism of Da Nang University of Economy celebrated a voluntary trip for all students to travel to a mountainous area in Quang Nam province to provide solar panels, producing free energy for daily activities there.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that all university students need to engage in an unpaid community. By doing charitable work, all tertiary students could enrich more soft skills and help less well-off people around the world.