All the university students should do voluntary work in their own time to help local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern age, the role of college students is believed by many to expand beyond their traditional academic responsibilities. As such, some people contend that every undergraduate should take part in voluntary service to benefit the local populace. In my opinion, while this course of action could certainly bring benefits to many university-goers, it might not be suitable for every individual of this group.

On one hand, taking part in honorary community service can foster great qualities in tertiary students.

In terms of ability, college attendees can develop practical team working skills by working in voluntary projects. As most non-profit work requires individuals to work in large groups of people, it facilitates the growth of related soft skills in students, such as communication, leadership and organizational skills, which are vital for their future worklife. Furthermore, doing community service aids the development of sympathy and community responsibility among undergraduates. By taking part in community initiatives, students are exposed to and gain a deep understanding of societal issues, which helps to cultivate altruism among university attendees and guide them to become active citizens.

On the other hand, the sentiment that every university student should do unpaid community work could put great strains on their personal commitments and mental health. Most undergraduates have various commitments and constraints, which often include their academic responsibilities and personal commitments. As such, the additional pressure of community service may impede on the time and energy allocated for said responsibilities, debilitating students from performing their main roles properly. A further adverse effect would be the detriment of college attendees’ mental wellbeing, which could result directly from the stress of an increased workload if they were to take up unpaid community work.

In conclusion, while taking part in voluntary service and contributing to the public can help students to develop vital skills and a community mindset, it can also put pressure on students’ personal life and psychological well being.