All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community. To what do you agree or disagree?

It was widely believed that universities should encourage their students to dedicate to some voluntary work in order to help the local people. In this essay, I will elaborate on why I strongly support this perspective.

The primary reason is that voluntary work done by students can bring enormous benefits for the local community. For a start, they can help to solve some problems and difficult tasks in the community. Indeed, because of their willingness to work voluntarily, the public authorities needn’t worry about the cost to carry out their action. For example, the students can collect the rubbishes, take care of trees and build houses for the poor,… Although they get no salary, their works seem to be productive surprisingly due to their youthful strength and creativity. Moreover, the appearances of the students in the local community can offer a ideal model to the young people. This means that they can spark the love for studying and working in the youngster. Being attracted by the students, the young can start a dream that they will enter the university in the future.

Another reason for my agreement is that the students can reach an integral mature through their voluntary works. This mature doesn’t mean that they acquire some meaningless knowledge, but they develop a sense of responsibility which is manifested in the desire to serve the demands of other people. While bearing in mind the social issues, not only does they learn some skills to deal with, but they also grow in the compassion which help them to connect to others and to the whole society. Furthermore, if wasting time is the most popular temptation in the students, then doing voluntary works would be the best way to use time properly and effectively.

In conclusion, I firmly support the idea that the students shouldn’t miss their chances to do some voluntary work where they live.