All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

In this hypercompetitive era, competition is much higher as compared to the previous generation. Owing to this, every university undergraduate syllabus and course ought to introduce a particular period of time spent studying abroad or doing subject-related internships and placements. The essay will scrutinize multifaceted merits which might overshadow the demerits, such as achieving practical knowledge, gaining international exposure, and students becoming self-dependent, which will be streamlined in the subsequent paragraphs.

I concede that applying this mandatory rule for every undergraduate student would have an impact on their lives. The first and foremost benefit is that students can become self-dependent. To put it in other words, nowadays students are more dependent on their parents, and they do not complete their own work by themselves. After studying in foreign countries, students become more self-dependent, and they also do part-time jobs for financial stability; due to these part-time jobs, they learn about the value of money, which is an essential thing in this modern era. Moreover, having international exposure leads to an increase in their management skills and linguistic skills, which are probably required abroad. Hence, university courses should include a particular time spent studying abroad.

I postulate that doing a work placement leads to students’ practical knowledge. The most significant upside of this rule is that students can learn several things and improve their academics. To explicate, students can learn several things in an internship; they work on practical skills with senior employees, so they can learn numerous things such as punctuality and other ethics. Having field knowledge along with theoretical knowledge boosts their opportunities and confidence, which would enhance their salary and financial stability. Learners and interns also learn some management skills, which will have an effect on their personal and professional lives. Hence, universities should include a period of time.

Conclusively, despite several downsides of including a particular time, it has numerous advantages, such as students becoming self-dependent due to studying abroad, and they could learn management skills and practical skills in their field due to an internship or work placement.