Although there is a lot of software available today that can translate from one language to another, it is still necessary for people to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, contemporary technologies have become more popular. One of the most used is translation software. Most people think that it is unnecessary to learn new foreign languages now, but we can not always rely on artificial intelligence. However, I agree that language learning remains significant for two reasons.

First, translation software is limited in some useful functions. It can only translate separate words and phrases without a full understanding of the exact meaning of sentences. It can cause some misunderstanding situations that will bring you into a cold sweat or make you feel uncomfortable and embarrassed. For example, you travel to your dream country and decide to rely on a translator, instead of learning language. You found a new friend, but lost him one day, because you accidentally insulted him, because you used translation software and it gave you the wrong meaning of the word. If you had learned the language, this would not have happened.

Second, translation software isn’t available all the time you need. Your phone battery can die or you don’t have wi-fi connection, but something happened and you need to understand how to help yourself. For example you can have some injury and need to explain to the doctor what hurts, but your phone battery died and you don’t know anything in this language. It will be more safe to learn language, because we never know what will happen.

In conclusion, learning languages is still necessary and important. We can’t always rely on artificial intelligence, due to a large number of reasons. Learning languages not only will it eliminate misunderstandings, but it will also improve your abilities.