Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, contemporary attention has been placed on whether to learn a language in spite of the omnipresence of translation tools on the internet. While no one can deny the convenience of available translation apps, I firmly believe that learning a language offers a myriad of benefits, far outweighing total dependence on translation software.

Advocates of translation gadgets may argue that they are extremely convenient for non-native speakers to exchange ideas with native speakers. For example, an American traveler to Japan can talk to the indigenous people regarding their wishes so that language barriers are no longer a major concern; therefore, enjoying every journey to other countries to experience new things, like cuisine, scenery, landscape, etc., might be much more fulfilling, without much language hindrance. Language tools, although they might be effective in translating, may sometimes produce incorrect translations, being time-consuming for both target listeners and users if the speaker’s voice is not fully captured repeatedly, especially in a noisy environment. Translation tools, therefore, may occasionally cause frustration for people, or even prevent users from having a deep conversation with foreigners in certain cases.

On the other hand, there are some stronger reasons to support the idea that learning a foreign language should be encouraged. First, bilingual or multilingual individuals can make friends around the world and open their horizons by gaining insights into the finest values of that nation. With language ability, they may even broaden their career prospects in certain cases by becoming an interpreter or a language teacher, or working for their dream company in another country. In many studies, language learners have a higher level of cognitive ability than monolinguals, making their brains more neuroplastic and reducing the rate of contracting Alzheimer’s disease. In the business landscape, individuals with language proficiency would be able to identify linguistic tricks in contracts, reducing the risks of potential financial losses, fostering healthier business cooperation, and creating growth and prosperity for business partners and the country as a whole. Thus, being multilingual is ideal as this provides many worthwhile advantages.

In conclusion, although some positive impacts of translation software on users are undeniable, I firmly believe that learning a foreign language provides more appealing benefits. Governments, I suppose, should sponsor students, especially those in underprivileged areas, so learning languages is accessible to all, creating an egalitarian society.