An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online? (repeated most years)

In today’s world more and more people have a tendency to do online shopping in order to meet their needs. While several merits are associated with this trend, personally, I am convinced that the downsides of virtual purchasing are far greater.

On the one hand, there are various advantages of e-commerce for customers as well as companies. One obvious benefit is its accessibility, as online shopping is available for 24-hours, people who work offline can do shopping in their spare time without commuting to stores and waiting in queues. Apart from that online business is much more convenient for sellers, because elimination of costs. People who run their business online are free of costs of store expenses and hiring staffs.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, I opine that there are mainly drawbacks to shopping over internet. One notable demerit of virtual shopping is shipping problems. It is highly likely that a buyer might receive wrong package, damaged product, or order might be delivered wrong address due to the inconveniences in delivery services. What is more, surfing online markets can result in impulsive shopping. There are innumerable online shopping stores in the internet which offers special discounts, prizes. While sitting in their comfort zone and paying from their debit card, it is highly like that buyers cannot resist to do another purchase, which will leave them in the debt.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that availability and cost-effectiveness are positives of online shopping, I believe that negatives of this trend prevail over advantages.