An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online? (repeated most years)

Nowadays, more and more people prefer buying online over shopping at a physical store. There are many advantages and disadvantages for customers and companies in shopping online, and in this essay, I will discuss some of them.

On the one hand, customers have a broader choice of items when they scroll through an online catalog compared to when they shop in a retail store. For instance, a recent report from a famous clothing company has shown that customers preferred buying on their website rather than physically going to their store because of the ample choice of sizes and colors they could easily access online. Another interesting comparison with traditional shopping is that buyers are able to purchase more online because they do not have to haul heavy items from one place to another. Sometimes, we refrain from buying not due to our finances, but because clothes, houseware, or books are very heavy to carry around. Consequently, modern transportation has become so efficient that we receive our purchased goods within one or two days at most. This practice can save us time and fuel. In fact, online shopping has increased the possibility and accessibility of purchasing for many people who might live in distant or remote places or who are simply disabled and require more accommodation than other able-bodied individuals. Finally, when people buy more, they often obtain discounts or coupons that can save a good amount of money on the overall final price. Although there are many pros to online shopping, a few concerning issues still remain.

On the other hand, e-commerce has considerably damaged the economy of local and small stores. As they have to compete with an increasing demand for sizes, colors, and items, many local companies are unable to fulfill and meet these requests, leaving the customer often unsatisfied and forced to resort to internet shopping. However, buying from a website has its limits. For example, customers cannot try on clothes, nor can they feel the fabric or ensure that the photo they have seen online corresponds to reality. In fact, it is very common for online customers to feel dissatisfied with the final product they receive at home. Additionally, the quality of clothes or other items has recently become very low compared to when local purchases were the only available choice. This is indeed a consequence of fast shopping. Fast shopping is the act of purchasing from big companies at a lower price that reflects the actual quality of the products. In this regard, an online survey conducted last year asked a few people to compare two items of clothing from the same store or brand but from different years and to notice whether the quality had increased or decreased. The result demonstrated that older products retained a higher quality, whereas the newer ones were of lower quality in texture and fabric. Therefore, online shopping might have its perks, but they are not all positive.

In conclusion, there are many benefits to buying online, such as ease and a larger choice of items, receiving packages at our doorsteps quickly, and obtaining more coupons and discounts. However, there are still worrying disadvantages, namely damaging local stores and lowering the overall quality of items. Despite both pros and cons, I think it is possible to find a middle ground and perhaps combine online and physical shopping to help improve the sales of local stores without threatening their existence.