Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The average life of a human being has prolonged significantly over the last few years in many countries. It is argued by some that older people cause problems for the government, while others argue that having more elderly people is beneficial for society. I believe that the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks of this phenomenon.

One of the biggest advantages of having more elderly in society is that they possess a vast amount of knowledge, experience and skills. They can pass their knowledge and experience onto the younger generation or students who work in the same fields. Furthermore, they can continue to work and contribute as long as they are in good health, which is further enabled by modern technology. In the past many were forced to retire at a certain age instead.Another good point to consider is that many people cherish the time they get to spend with their grandparents or aging parents, and to be able to extend even if for a short time is priceless. Grandparents often get to be caretakers of children while their parents are busy at work and they get to bond and share stories.

On the other hand, there are some negatives to having an aging population, one of them is that older people are more likely to get chronically ill and as a result many of the healthcare resources are dedicated to supporting them, which severely impacts the healthcare system and leaves the rest of the population with a scarcity of resources. Secondly, if a senior citizen goes on to live a very long life, the government has to implement social systems and long-term pension plans to support them, which increases the costs. If they choose not to retire, the youth will have to compete with them for the same employment opportunities, leading to unemployment.

In conclusion, I think that, in spite of having some drawbacks to prolonged life, having the elderly as a part of the society is tremendously beneficial for everyone.