Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that art-related courses significantly contribute to the children’s well-being so these classes should be added to the school curriculum as a subject. Personally, although this tendency is of great benefit to the growth of children, I suppose that it should be optional in high schools.

Admittedly, one might argue that art classes exert positive impacts on children’s development. This is because children’s participation in art fields might enhance their creativity and cognitive skills. During the process of drawing and painting, children tend to come up with novel ideas, unique thinking and probably give birth to second-to-notch masterpieces. These students could also have gold opportunities to gain a deep understanding of artists’ feelings and meaningful messages behind each work of art through observing them in art classes, which then proves an effective way to practice expressing emotions among children. On a societal level, art graduates could access a wide range of job opportunities and the potential for high earnings. The fact that several individuals who possess artistic aptitudes and aesthetic eyes can easily get a lucrative salary in varied positions such as designers, architects or artists, by extension, they also stand a chance for promotion in their ladder career. For example, the picture Mona Lisa drawn by Leonardo da Vinci has made him the most prominent artist in the world and the cost of this picture could be up to millions of dollars making a huge profit for its owner.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, the trend towards introducing art as a mandatory subject might be unsound to some extent. According to some art learners, studying art turns out to be time and money-consuming. Instead of spending time on drawing continuously, it is more sensible to focus on other vital subjects like Maths and history or attend vocational training courses that arguably meet their job demands soon. On the other hand, children find creating art simply boring as it requires people’s meticulousness, persistence, and determination which are mainly owned by those with artistic talent. If schools recommend this subject to children’s syllabus, perhaps it might raise a large-scale disagreement among these kids, pertaining to lower academic results and leaving school as well.

In conclusion, I believe that students should have the option to choose whether to take art classes or not, even though art plays a pivotal role in children’s development.