Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought claims that art curricula should be mandatory in high school as they are as equally essential to children’s development as other subjects. I totally agree with this belief, given the benefits artistic subjects provide for learners, both mentally and creatively.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that compared to science-based subjects, which directly address the most urgent problems facing individuals nowadays, such as poverty, environmental degradation and technological disruption, art subjects are of peripheral significance, catering for the entertaining and expressive aspects of humankind. This is why many believe that it is unjustifiable to assign these subjects as compulsory curricula, in which valuable study time can be dedicated to science-oriented subjects. Additionally, subjects relating to arts, such as painting and drawing, are mostly based on personal talents, where genetic predisposition plays a crucial role in determining whether a student is exceptionally qualified for such subjects. To that end, the influence that art classes exert may be negligible for those who are inherently unsuitable, reinforcing the notion that arts subjects should be optional rather than mandatory.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that artistic subjects help extend learners’ creativity and visuo-spacial ability as well as develop interpersonal skills, which are essential factors for personal growth. This is attributed to the fact that students are frequently exposed to a highly artistic environment, where they are made to complete tasks such as coming up with ideas for a painting and mixing colours together – processes which require a degree of creativity and a high level of patience. Such an interdisciplinary nature justifies arts subjects as essential to the development of children, whether learners are naturally talented or not. Moreover, subjects relating to art encompass an insight into different historical eras and diverse artistic approaches associated with each period, rendering these valuable subjects which preserve cultures and instill in learners a sense of cultural appreciation and acquisition.

In conclusion, while conceding that several subjects are superior to artistic ones when it comes to the immediate resolutions of taxing social concerns, I strongly advocate compulsory art lectures, as these subjects contribute to a holistic personal development and the preservation of artistic cultures over time.