As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technology, the modernization of education has been boosted, and some people predict that teachers will no longer play a pivotal role in tutoring. Although this school of thought is valid to a certain extent, I still believe that the importance of teachers cannot be replaced.

Admittedly, the presence of computers has significant bearings on education, including the access to information and the removal of physical boundaries. Technology could be regarded as an efficacious tool to assist the learning process thanks to the colossal amount of data that it provides. Learners can gain a fully extended grasp of various fields through web-based classes, thereby becoming erudite students. Moreover, the integrity of technology has significantly eradicated geographical boundaries. In fact, a plethora of online courses offering knowledge from fundamental to advanced could be found at a click of a button, which facilitates learners from all over the world to have access to education irrespective of their locations.

However, the efficiency of e-learning has engendered some valid concerns ranging from the inadequacy of motivation and a one-dimensional dynamic, making the role of teachers irreplaceable. The pedagogic skills of teachers make significant contributions to students’ motivation; they can boost student morale by different approaches, which cannot be found in virtual learning. The zeal for teaching could be regarded as an emblematic figure of inspiration, therefore incentivizing students to make strenuous efforts. Moreover, face-to-face interaction acts as a superiority of teachers to robots. Two-way interactions including live discussions, imparting knowledge through stories, … outstrip the dynamic in e-learning due to the gauged effectiveness. To illustrate, thanks to those interactive activities, teachers can monitor students fastidiously and give them constructive feedback which are instrumental in navigating future careers. Without two-way interactions, computers cannot surpass the teacher’s role in education.

There are two principal merits of technology in education, including various sources of information and the flexibility in locations; nevertheless, the role of teachers in education remains stable thanks to their ability to inspire and direct interactions.