AS COMPUTERS TRANSLATE QUICKLY AND ACCURATELY, SOME PPL THINK THAT LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE IS A WASTE OF TIME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO U AGREE OR DISAGREE?v

Nowadays, technologies are evolving fast, so everybody has access to the internet and artificial intelligence systems. Due to this, some people may regard learning languages as a waste of time because computers now can translate quickly and accurately. Personally, I believe that learning language is a huge benefit.This essay will further analyze the statement and give evidence to support my point of view.

First and foremost, learning a foreign language is beneficial in many aspects, as it allows people to understand cultures beyond their own nation. Studying different languages, including their grammar and pronunciation, opens the door to the cultures of countries around the world. As a result, individuals can travel more easily without facing communication problems or needing to hire a guide and translator. Therefore, language plays a crucial role in building connections with people. For instance, the most used languages such as French, English, Chinese, Spanish, Arabic, and Russian are used in international relations ,so that countries do diplomacy and conferences.

Secondly, studying foreign language can improve your memory functions and minimize the chance of having an illness such as Alzheimer’s. According to the Cambridge article, scientists tested the way of thinking of people who speak only one language(monolingual) with bilingual people. They found that grey matter, which is a major component of our nervous system consisting of neutral cell bodies, is found in more bilingual people than monolingual ones. This means that their grey matter is denser which prevents dementia and improves concentration of our working memory.

In conclusion, considering everything, learning foreign languages is not a waste of time because it connects the whole world in touch and enhances the memory function.