As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an common misconception among many of us that they can use computers for translating all foreign languages therefore they should not spend and effort in learning world languages.I don’t agree with this concept as these transalating application cannot help us in real life situation neither they are fully accurate.

Firstly, if we have to speak the language unknown to us then using google transalate or any other mobile appilcation will be extremely difficult as we will have to type every sentences we have to say and same goes for the listener. It will be more time consuming and furstrating for both the people who are trying to communicate.For example, when I moved to Japan, I had little knowledge about Japanese and had to use translator and as it was tough most Japanese people avoided talking to me.

Moreover, there is also an issue with the correctness of a computer translated information as most of the time the way the native speaker actually speak is different than the one computer convert into.The converted document or message will sound unnatural and wierd to the native speakers and sometimes it may also become rude too. In my case, when I changed from English to Japanese and send it as an message to Japanese peoplethey firstly could not understand the meaning clearly and also complained that the sentences were not polite.

In conclusion, we can use the computers and smartphones as an source of extra help but these cannot fully replace the benefits of learning different languages. Therefore, to be able to use these devices efficiently too we should at least have the basic education in foreign languages.