As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

In this contemporary world, countries are elevating with a significant rate. Thereby, a large number of residents are able to purchase their private cars. Nevertheless, whether this trend is propitious for individuals or it contributes to the emergence of issues, namely intimidating the ecosystem raises a controversy. This essay seeks to clarify if any side precedes more precedence.

On the one hand, buying personal cars enhances driving and travelling experience. People prefer going to work by their own cars so that they could customise their journey, rather than sharing the car with someone else or travelling via public means of transportation. The comfortability of driving a private car, accordingly, convey the exuberant feeling and boost the energy for people to have a productive working day. Further more, commuting by personal cars is less as costly as going to work by public transport, as kinds of mass transit such as buses or underground trams require a daily or monthly fee to commute. Driving to work by private cars decreased commuting expenses substantially, such expenses could be allocated to more practical purposes instead.

On the other hand, the sudden surge in car numbers appear on the streets poses a serious threat on the ecosystem. First of all, it is apparently that the more cars that are available outwards, the more greenhouse gases, comprise hazardous substances, specifically carbon dioxide are emitted to the environment. Take some megacities around the world to illustrate this point. In the city of Beijing, China, in which cars are ubiquitous, their emission to the ecosystem contributes greatly, for approximately 70 percent to the catastrophic air pollution in this city. Moreover, the skyrocketing car figures lead to another surge regarding fossil fuels, especially petrol to catch up with the increasing number of cars. This not only precipitates overexploitation, which potentially ends up with the severe shortage of fuels in the near future, but it also exacerbates the situation of global air pollution in recent years.

To recapitulate, both the personal merits and environmental shortcomings are deserved to be taken into thorough consideration. The car users have to balance their usage so as to both protect the environment and fulfill their commuting experience.