As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that adequate accommodation plays a pivotal in human welfare. To ensure that dwellers meet their basic needs, some people call for the government to offer housing for the underprivileged. While this proposal holds certain merits, I would argue that it is not a viable solution.

Granted, advocates of providing free accommodation for the poor would highlight its potential to mitigate the socio-economic disparity. Due to the current burgeoning population, housing prices have been escalating at an unprecedented rate, making them increasingly financially burdensome, especially for the impoverished. Thus, these unfortunate people would fall into a vicious circle of poverty and be unlikely to make any improvements. Meanwhile, government-sponsored housing initiatives can reduce the rate of homelessness and give the poor a chance to escape the poverty trap. Indeed, these advocates often cite examples from countries like Finland, whose housing policies have significantly improved the overall public well-being, relegating this nation to the happiest country in the world.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, I contend that its repercussions are more pronounced, necessitating a rigorous reevaluation. To be specific, a free housing policy poses an onerous financial burden on the government as it warrants a colossal amount of money to cover the accommodation fee of the homeless totally. Moreover, this practice can engender a sense of over-reliance on government funding. In other words, these people would take this assistance for granted and not truly endeavor to improve their conditions. In the long term, this mindset will take a toll on the labor market quality of the country, hampering economic growth in general.

To conclude, while providing free housing for the poor can prospectively boost the welfare of the poor, it can be excessively financially burdensome for the government and result in economic stagnation, rendering it an unworthy tradeoff.