As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The role of textbooks becoming useless by growing availability of online information. Therefore universities should change paper-based materials to electronic ones. The downsides of moving to digital materials can include disappearing big libraries and low profit for companies which produce traditional books, but these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits, such as the access to any materials online and ceasing consumption of trees.

One disadvantage of replacing traditional books with online materials is losing large libraries. By rising popularity of digital materials, nobody will visit libraries. Students will use more and more technologies to read books rather than using traditional books. Moreover, companies which manufacture huge amounts of books will be faced with financial problems, as a result they will not be needed anymore. Therefore, their profits will dive down as their rating among other companies.

However, the advantages of moving paper-based materials into digital ones are far greater. One of the main benefits is accessible materials on internet, for instance, some students are not able to visit libraries, because of their work or they have busy schedule,that is why using digital information more useful than traditional ones. Also it is more comfortable to use gadgets during the way of getting to university. Moreover, this change can protect against trees consumption for making paper-based materials by providing digital materials to people.

In conclusion, replacing traditional books with digital ones may brings some problems, such as losing libraries and influence on book manufacturing companies profit. However, the upsides are much more significant, including accessible online information and reducing consumption of trees.