As populations grow, places of natural beauty in cities are being used for constructing new houses. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Topic: As populations continue to grow, places of natural beauty in cities and around are being used for construction of new housing. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rapid rise in population, converting natural spaces into residential areas has become increasingly common. While such development addresses housing shortages, I believe that the potential drawbacks may outweigh its benefits.

The conversion of natural areas into housing may alleviate some problems, the most pressing of which is the lack of housing. When governments invest in transforming areas with limited ecological or aesthetic value into residential zones, there is more space available for construction. Naturally, this development attracts people from rural areas who plan to move to urban cities in search of better job and educational opportunities. This, in turn, stimulates businesses, resulting in higher profits and more taxes, thus contributing to the economy. As a result, the country becomes more modernized and populated, which leads to significant outcomes, such as greater job opportunities and improved living standards.

Despite these positive outcomes, I believe that this transformation has more negative aspects, particularly in terms of air quality and mental health. Firstly, fewer eco-friendly environments lead to greater pollution. In a world where every household owns private cars and factories are ubiquitous, emitting gases non-stop, the importance of natural areas is greater than that of other fields, as their preservation is vital for public health. Secondly, with fewer scenic places to relax and de-stress, individuals lose a peaceful escape from the busy city center. If people do not have access to ecozones to take a break and rejuvenate from their grueling schedules, their productivity and mental health may suffer, leading to unproductive work hours and stressful lifestyles.

To conclude, although this type of development provides clear advantages in terms of addressing housing shortages and promoting national growth, I contend that it should be seen as a serious threat by authorities and resisted, as the harms far outweigh the benefits.