As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that corporations should take account of social actions in addition to making profit. I agree that giving back to the community is crucial to help businesses thrive. In this essay, I will discuss this topic in more detail as well as give my stand to this believe in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it is widely believed that companies’ prime goal is to make more wealth. However, many enterprises used both nature and human resources to be able to produce goods. Hence, many companies are implementing programs to essentially give back to the public to restore balance between companies and their external stakeholders through CSR (corporate Social Responsibility). For example, Unilever is proposing to give an extra toothpaste to people in need for every toothpaste sold inIndonesia as part of their CSR program.

Nevertheless, it is undeniable that community engagement plays an immense part in businesses’ valuation. Moreover, it is the public that will purchase the products or the services provided by companies. Therefore, I believe that companies should have social and humanitarian programs to help not only the community, but also the environment as well. By having social responsibilities, it can help enterprises to show that they care about their external stakeholders.

In conclusion, corporate enterprises should have some type of social actions other than focusing on making profit. I strongly agree that having corporate social responsibility can help businesses gain more consumer engagement and eventually grow their valuation because more people are buying more products from that company.