As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indeed important for enterprises to show social accountability in line with their own incomes from their businesses. Companies should gain profit; however, I agree with the point that they should make a commitment to contribute to society.

On the one hand, companies always seek out ways of making more money in order to survive in a competitive market, which is considered the target objective of businesses. It seems logical that a company’s priority is to cover its expenses, such as employees’ salaries, production expenses, building costs, utilities, and so on. By earning more profits, enterprises can afford to pay for those expenses and gain financial stability. If a company, for example, is unable to maintain the financial health of its employees, this also negatively impacts society, worsening the financial wellbeing of individuals in social settings. In other words, when an establishment functions well in terms of gaining profits, it contributes to the overall financial wellbeing of individuals in society.

On the other hand, I accept that besides solely functioning towards high profits, businesses should have other commitments, serving as a means of developing motivators in society, including using their proportion of income for charities for local residents in need and environmental protection, with their actions causing some environmental damage. It would be beneficial for both businesses and communities when the government uses certain independence or tax-free policies for enterprises, which strengthens the capability of the companies to contribute to society with their financial independence. For instance, when a business company is given various opportunities, it can offer several options to improve society.

In conclusion, I believe that businesses should also make firm commitments to social services rather than only gaining profits for themselves.