At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages.

Through analyzing the fact that the population of young adults is larger than that of older people in some countries, there is an ongoing debate about whether the advantages are more significant than the disadvantages of this situation. I firmly see this status quo in some countries as having more positive aspects than negative sides for several reasons.

Firstly, a larger population of young adults positively affects those countries’ GDP. Generally, people who are under 60 years old can work more actively and for longer hours than those who are older. Additionally, a lot of scientific data shows that the brain ages simultaneously as the body ages. Thus, a larger number of young adults can contribute to producing better products and services, and ultimately help the countries increase their GDP.

Secondly, older people can reach social welfare and nursing services equally and steadily. By seeing the opposite tendency in population, such as in Japan, many older people are struggling to get into a limited number of nursing homes and to get adequate insurance from the government. On the other hand, in the countries where the young adult population outweighs the older population, the government can provide them enough social welfare for them to live, and they can enjoy the rest of their stable lives.

Lastly, younger people’s opinions can get more attention from government officials when they consider new policies. Recently, it is said that the younger generation is less interested in politics than older people. However, one of the reasons for this tendency is that policies are often determined to get attention from older people, causing the younger generation to lose more interest. However, when the population of young adults surpasses the older generation, the government would make a more comfortable society for younger people as well as older people.

In conclusion, the countries in which young adults account for a relatively larger part of the population than older people have significant advantages in the economy, an equal environment for older people, and political opportunity for the young generation.