Because children may not have the natural ability to learn foreign languages, schools should not force all children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some children seemingly do not have talents in learning a language; therefore, it is suggested that foreign language should not be an obligatory subject for them at schools. Personally, I partly agree with this school of thought for several reasons.

On the one hand, I am convinced that forcing students who are not interested in studying languages naturally can worsen their studies. As this subject is not their strengths, they can struggle to acknowledge new grammars or new vocabularies, which are mainly different from their mother tongues. This can lead to the increase in the level of pressure and the decrease in the motivation for studying, which can affect their scores of other subjects. Therefore, if students are not forced to learn a new language, their academic performances might not be lower and they may avoid some anxiety-related diseases.

However, I also disagree with the permission made by schools that students having natural inabilities to learn a second language do not need to take classes for this subject. The key reason is that the primary aim of a school is educating people to receive not only more achievements in studying, but also higher opportunities to succeed. Moreover, these days, many large corporations are likely to employ individuals who can communicate with foreigners for business exchange. Consequently, learning a new language can give students more chances of employment, leading to the growth in the importance of studying this subject at school. Although some students do not naturally have the possibility to learn a second language, it can be remedied by changing the educational approach to them, say, using flash cards or playing games. As a result, schools should not abandon this subject for these students due to their chances of having a substantial career.

In conclusion, unless the educators make their students to acknowledge a new language, although the students are not able to learn this naturally, their marks and mental health can be impacted negatively. Nevertheless, learning a foreign language can also be beneficial for the future profession of the students, so this can also be a necessary subject.