By punishing murderer with the death penalty, society it also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison it a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent times, crimes have been dramatically increasing over the last decade. Criminals are becoming confident with their new techniques of performing unethical acts. As a result, some people think the decent penalty is total eradication by death; however, others believe long-term prisoning is a better punishment. Based on my vantage point, I agree with both views depending on the seriousness of the crime. This essay will discuss both statements, in addition to my perspective of adopting both ideas.

To begin with, it is of paramount importance that legal fairness should be precisely applied in societies; thus, people can feel safe and act accordingly. If one penalty, like death, is set as a standard for all evil acts, the people will not be honest with the legal system, and eventually it will fail. Subsequently, the punishment should be designed to the level of crime.

The punishment of death is huge and irreversible. However, it should be performed for dark acts, like for those who murder others or for those who hurt children physically. Sometimes, restoring crimes are not a valid option anymore, and in those cases, in particular, death should be considered. Furthermore, in some religions, this penalty should be followed as a command from the god; hence it cannot be deleted from the punishment list.

On the other hand, prison could be a better choice for those who committed slight or neglectable crimes like robbery. This will offer an excellent opportunity for those groups to restore themselves within that corrective period. The prisoners could learn new crafts or read multiple books, making them better people. Moreover, the rehabilitation will provide freshly released prisoners with good manners who could assess society by volunteering or joining the career world.

To conclude, the penalty should be made according to the level of crimes performed. Death punishment should be used in certain circumstances and based on religious commands. Other punishments like prison can be considered for those with non-serious wrong practices, giving them the opportunity to learn from their mistakes in prison. In the end, they can start a new life with the new white chapter.