Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Owning a four- wheeler is considered as a status symbol in the society and it makes people feel wealthy. Over the past three decades, getting a car has become so frequent and aggressively grown among the population that metropolitan cities are now given the tag of ‘one giant traffic jam’. This essay will discuss why I think this behaviour will lead to harming both public and environment. Furthermore, it will also suggest preventive actions that government can take to overcome private transports.

Firstly, I believe that everyone has the right to have their vehicle; however, if people started using cars for all transportation needs then it will eventually lead to more cars on the road than in the showroom itself. Moreover, it creates a heavy jam on the road which can create delay to work, school and other destinations. One of the most concerning factor to look is the scarcity of fuels. Due to this, many developing countries have increased the prices of fuel overnight. Also, this has a dangerous influence on the surrounding environment and eventually affecting health of people. In newspaper there were big headlines showing because harmful gases generated due to vehicles in crowded traffics, how the air quality of Delhi have became worse.

It is high time for government bodies to take measures for more and more car usage. Firstly, it can be controlled by making cheap fair of public transportation systems that will ultimately encourage people to avoid using their cars. For example, if 70 people can drive cars for going to work but if they have cheaper alternative just like buses and metros it will automatically decrease trafficking. Secondly, government can also collect taxes from car owners to reduce traffic jams.

In conclusion, this essay has discused crucial points on how traffic jams will lead to environmental damage and create pollution. It is also the responsibility of government to provide cheap and effective solutions for the people to overcome this problem.