Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Without a doubt, many people would agree that the number of cars, especially in urban areas, has increased massively over the last three decades, causing various problems that the governments have to address by applying measures to reduce car utilization or even ownership.

The reasons for the enormous increase in the number of cars are numerous, ranging from easy access to car financing installations to the abundance of car types and easy transportation around the world. Whatever the reasons, the consequences of this, especially in prominent and big cities, are problematic and varied. Firstly, in some cities, the traffic is always congested throughout the day, obligating people to add a few hours to their commute or risk being late. Furthermore, traffic jams lead to pollution, both environmentally due to the exhausts emitted and noise due to the excessive use of horns. Moreover, the probability of accidents undoubtedly increases.

To alleviate traffic congestion, governments have to apply different approaches. Firstly, public transportation has to be improved by imposing lower fares and increasing the quality and reliability, which in turn would encourage citizens to give up utilizing their cars. For example, in Tokyo, the public transportation, such as trains and buses, are always on time, making them trustworthy for commuting. Also, governments should educate individuals on the drawbacks of excessive car use to increase awareness and subsequently reduce the number of cars utilized. Furthermore, they can impose taxes on buying new cars and, at the same time, impose sanctions on car ownership when cars are used in restricted areas.

To sum up, the surge in cars leading to congested streets is a problem that cannot be denied, and the government has to tackle it by implementing different approaches and policies to mitigate this problem.