Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some, kids should not be allowed to watch television. Although there are undoubtedly opinions that by watching TV children can learn more efficient and faster, I firmly believe that allowing children to learn from TV and encouraging to do this both at school and at home would be a big mistake. This has brought, and will continue to bring, great impact on a child’s future physiological development.

An outstanding example of this is that the influence of watching television on a kid’s physiological development. If children watch TV it can affect their brain system, which takes role on cognitive functions and learning abilities. There are many examples of how by watching television children have developed several diseases, and which held their development. Here is one thing that must be mentioned. Children learn by real-life experience, such as touching real things, tasting, and smelling. It would be better if children spend more time outside by playing and learning together by their peers.

Furthermore, the quality of cartoons and educational videos on television are not good for learning. Numerous videos of fruits, cars and animals talking and dancing may change the view of a children about the world. For instance, Chinese parents do not allow their kids to watch such a kind of cartoons and TV in general. It may be one of the reasons of why Chinese kids have higher intelligence compared to others.

To sum up, I strongly disagree with the statement that we should encourage kids to watch TV both and school and at home. Despite the globalization, spending leisure time outside and having natural learning environment would be better for children’s learning.