Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to school. What are the reasons ? How can we solve this problem?

In recent times, it is usually believed that concentrating on schoolwork becomes harder and harder for children. Given that there are some reasons for this phenomenon, the severity of the problem can be lessened by the adoption of some solutions.

First and foremost, there are several reasons why children cannot pay attention to their lessons. There is no denying that the use of electronic devices at an early age can impair the ability to concentrate of students. It is obvious that the electromagnetic waves contained in these devices can have a detrimental effect on the development of the focusing region inside the brain. For example, an experiment in 2008 showed that the focusing ability of a 6-year-old child after 3 years of watching YouTube videos decreased by 60% compared to a normal child. Besides, a lack of attention in teaching methods also affects students’ attention. This means that reading or learning a long essay without actual images and videos can prevent them from understanding all the lessons. All the given factors provide an explanation of why it is difficult for students to concentrate on their studies.

On the question of addressing the problem, both governments and families should make a joint effort. At a government level, efficient investment in school amenities, such as televisions and computers, can have a beneficial influence on studying and teaching quality. Moreover, at a family level, parents have to strictly limit the time for smartphone or other electronic device usage to under 30 minutes before the age of six.

In conclusion, the reduction of children’s concentrated capability on studying stems from two main triggers. However, to combat this problem, concerted efforts from both governments and families are required.