Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to school. What are the reasons ? How can we solve this problem?

Children can hardly focus on or keep their mind on studying at school. This problem might initially start from many reasons and it can negatively affect the children’s experience in school. However, there are a few solutions to change the way children view school.

Firstly, some people say that children find studying in school is boring is due to the way teachers educate them. Some teachers often do not put the effort in stimulating their students’ brain. This accidentally make children loose interest in school and see studying is tedious. For instance, if a teacher give lessons about physics but does not link them to daily phenomenas, students could hardly relate to the knowledge and find them complicated. Secondly, mismatch learning style can highly contribute to children’s lack of concentration in school. Although each individual has a distinctive way of acquiring knowledge such as visualizing or practising, most children are taught to take in information by only reading on the papers or screens. This can cause some children to misunderstand that studying is hard or the learning path is not for them.

To enhance children’s experience in school, teachers have to drive their attention by facilitating a creative study environment. Students should be able to apply the knowledge they have been taught to daily life. For example, after learning how the wheels of the car operate, they can create a wooden car travelling by water. Additionally, teachers should not force students to focus solely on one learning style. Children should be introduced to some learning techniques to make learning easy, such as the Feyman Technique or space repetition.

To conclude, although there are some reasons that can hinder children from focusing on school, I believe the solutions above can help children get excited and concentrate in school.