Children today spend a lot of time on social media. What potential problems could this cause and how could they be addressed?

Today, children tend to spend an excessive amount of time on social media. This situation is likely to result in some serious problems unless countermeasures are implemented effectively.

To start, children’s addiction to social media gives rise to two major issues, the most significant one of which is social isolation. This is because more and more children choose to stay with their devices and surf the social media in search of entertainment and new friends, they do not have time to interact with their friends at school or do recreational activities such as going to the cinema and doing some sports. Consequently, this leads to difficulties in socializing with other people over time. Furthermore, spending a lot of time on social media may cause some serious health conditions such as diabetes and obesity. Children sit in one place for a considerable amount of time, watching videos, messaging, uploading and downloading photos on social media. Lack of physical movement makes them idle and reluctant to do any physical activity which leads to problems with their health.

Having established the severity of the situation, there are some practical solutions to consider. Implementing restrictions on the amount of time children spend on social media by parents is the first line of response. It works since parents are the people who have the most control over activities that their children do. By exercising strict control on their children’s social-media time, parents can prevent their children from becoming addicted. Another possible solution is for the social media companies to introduce age limits on their platforms. This can be done by asking new users to submit a document which confirms their age such as a copy of their ID or birth certificate. Companies could further implement regular age checks to ensure that users are of the required age.

In conclusion, while the main issues stemming from children’s addiction to social media are social isolation and serious health issues, solutions range from strictly controlling the amount of time allocated to social media by parents to the introduction of age limits by companies.